Richard C. Lillehei Memorial Lecture

About the Award

A biennial award given to an outstanding clinician and/or scientist for their substantial contributions towards advancing the field of pancreas transplantation.

Richard C. Lillehei was part of a team of surgeons at the University of Minnesota whose vision and expertise led to performing the first successful pancreas transplant in humans in 1966. The Richard C. Lillehei Memorial Lecture Award is given biennially to a clinician and/or scientist who has made important and substantive advancements leading to improvements in the lives of patients receiving pancreas transplants. The inaugural Lillehei Lecture will be delivered at the 2011 IPITA congress in Prague and commemorates Dr. Lillehei’s outstanding achievement.

Every two years, between congresses, the IPITA Council accepts nominations for, and selects the Richard C. Lillehei Memorial Lecture award recipient.

Richard C. Lillehei
Pancreas Transplant Visionary
Past Recipients
  • 2023

    Stephen T. Bartlett - OSF Healthcare, USA
  • 2021

    Robert J. Stratta - Wake Forest School of Medicine, NC, USA
  • 2019

    Angelika Gruessner and Rainer Gruessner - SUNY Downstate Medical Center, Brooklyn, NY, USA
  • 2017

    Raimund Margreiter - University Klinik fur Chirurgie, Innsbruck, Austria
  • 2015

    Hans Sollinger - University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI, USA
  • 2013

    Jean-Michel Dubernard - Hôpital Edouard Herriot, Lyon, France
  • 2011

    David ER. Sutherland - University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN, USA



Staff Directory
+1-514-874-1717 x216


International Pancreas & Islet Transplant Association
c/o The Transplantation Society
740 Notre-Dame Ouest
Suite 1245
Montréal, QC, H3C 3X6